Maharashtra all set for first BJP govt as Fadnavis' swearing-in ceremony begins

October 31, 2014

Maharashtra all set for first BJP govt as Fadnavis' swearing-in ceremony begins

In a clear sign of improvement in ties, Shiv Sena chief Uddhav Thackeray will attend the swearing-in of the Devendra Fadnavis government Friday after BJP president Amit Shah reached out to him just hours ahead of the ceremony.

BJP National President Amit Shah with Maharashtra CM-designate Devendra Fadnavis during their meeting at his residence in New Delhi.

Amit Shah and Maharashtra chief minister designate Devendra Fadnavis called up the sulking Sena chief and invited him to attend the oath taking ceremony, Sena leaders said.

The call from the BJP leaders ended the 10-day standoff and Uddhav Thackeray decided to go back on his earlier decision to boycott the ceremony.

According to Sena MP Anil Desai, both Shah and union minister Arun Jaitley spoke to Uddhav inviting him to be part of the government, and requested him to attend the ceremony.

"Both Amit Shah and Arun Jaitley have spoken to Uddhavji and things have sorted out. He will be attending the function. The next talks will now happen smoothly," Desai told Hindustan Times.

He added that although there was no elaborate discussion on ministerial berths, it will happen in the next few days.

The Shiv Sena had insisted that they should be given a respectable deal if they have to lend their 63 seats to the BJP which has 123 seats, 22 seats short of majority.

Sena leaders had called for a boycott after BJP general secretary Rajiv Pratap Rudy said Thursday the former ally would not be a part of the government as of now. "It is unlikely that Shiv Sena ministers will be sworn in tomorrow. But there is a possibility that it will be our partner in the future, Rudy had said.

Prime Minister Narendra Modi , chief ministers of several BJP ruled states, party chief Amit Shah and a large number of celebrities are attending the grand function.

BJP had sent out invites to Shiv Sena chief Thackeray, NCP chief Sharad Pawar and former Chief Minister Prithviraj Chavan for the event.Fadnavis, a four-term MLA from Nagpur, will be administered the oath of office by Governor C Vidyasagar Rao at Wankhede Stadium.

Source: H.T

Pop Up Modal Window Click me