HRD Ministry to open 19 new academic institutes

September 18, 2014

As quoted by the Human Resource and Development Ministry, India will get 19 new academic institutes. Out of the list of the 19 institutes, seven of them are to be established in Andhra Pradesh, a website has reported.

Lists of institutes to be set up are IIMs, IITs, Central Universities, NITs, IISER and IIITs.


As per the official announcement, Himachal Pradesh, Bihar, Punjab, Maharashtra, Andhra Pradesh and Odisha will see the establishment of Indian Institutes of Management (IIMs), and Jammu, Goa, Chhattisgarh, Kerala and Andhra Pradesh will have Indian Institutes of Technology (IITs). Andhra Pradesh will also get one National Institute of Technology (NIT), one Indian Institute of Science Education and Research (IISER) and one Indian Institute of Information Technology (IIIT). One Tribal university will also be set up in Telangana.

In the recently announced Union Budget, the government had allocated Rs 28,635 crore for the Sarva Shiksha Abhiyan (SSA), which aims to achieve universilisation of elementary education in a time-bound manner and Rs 4,966 crore for the Rashtriya Madhyamik Shiksha Abhiyan (RMSA). Besides, the government had announced a school assessment programme at a cost of Rs 30 crore.




Pop Up Modal Window Click me