Victory for ABVP at DUSU poll, Won all four seats

September 13, 2014

The BJP affiliated Akhil Bhartiya Vidyarthi Parishad (ABVP) won all four seats at the Delhi University Students Union election today. DUSU polls witness Modi wave.

ABVP got a clean sweep at the DUSU polls. Mohit Nagar won the president post, Pravesh Malik - vice president, Ameet Sidhu - secretary and Ashutosh Mathur - joint secretary.

Winning President of the DUSU polls, Mohit Nagar said today that his first motive is to† increase the numbers of U special buses for the students and to initiate metro passes for them.

ABVPís †Mohit Nagar defeated NSUIís Gaurav Tushir by 2000 votes. While, ABVPís vice presidential candidate, Parvesh Mallik defeated NSUIís Mona Chaudhary, and Kanika Shekhawat defeated Amit Sidhu for the post of Secretary. For the post of Joint Secretary, ABVPís Ashutosh Mathur won over NSUIís Abhishek Chaudhary.

Over thousands of students voted for the DUSU poll yesterday for the four crucial post -President, Vice President, Secretary and Joint Secretary.

DUSU is the representative body of the students from most colleges and faculties of the varsity.

The polls have been keenly contested over decades and have also been a stepping stone to party politics for some prominent leaders.

Last year, the DUSU polls were swept by ABVP. While ABVP candidate Raju Rawat was elected as the joint secretary, Aman Awana and Utkarsh Chaudhary were elected as president and vice-president respectively.

Pop Up Modal Window Click me