Women scientists enter IIT council for the first time

September 2, 2014

New Delhi | September 2, 2014 | Vidya Express

HRD Ministry made a huge decision by nominating two women scientists Tessy Thomas and Viayalakshmi Rabindranath to the IIT council which is the apex body of 16 IITs. It is to be mentioned that IITs never had a woman Director or scientist.

Thomas is the first woman to head India’s missile program. She is in charge of Agni-4 missile project of Defense Research Development Organization whereas Rabindranath helped establish NATIONAL Brain Research Centre. Her research on neurogenerative disorders can be used to develop disease-modifying therapies.

“The idea behind getting women scientists in the IIT council is to show that science is not the sole preserve of men. Women can be at par with men in carrying out research”, says a senior HRD official.


IIT is headed by HRD minister and consists of three members of parliament, chairpersons and directors of all IITs, chairperson of UGC, director general of CSIR, chairman and directors of IISc, nominee of HRD ministry, and three appointees each of the ministry and AICTE.

Pop Up Modal Window Click me